Be The Hammer & JOHN 3:16 – Swarm (IC024)

| |

Be the Hammer [B_Γ_H] is a Belgium-based collaborative project revolving around its sole constant member, Raoul Puke, surrounded with various contributors depending on the release. He started with recording material alongside thereminist / vocalist Dominique Van Cappellen-Waldock (Baby Fire, von Stroheim), thus giving birth to Be the Hammer’s first album, Tangled Mass, released in 2015.

Later on he teamed up with guitarist / co-producer Jean-Marc Nicoletti (UnSoNiC), forming the project’s current line-up.

Their music comes from a combination of drone and spoken word, but keeps exploring various paths, and lately has been including more and more rhythmic elements.

JOHN 3:16 is the guise of Philippe Gerber, formerly one third of the London-based trio Heat From A DeadStar (2004 – ’09), who became the first non-US band to be signed by Rick Harte’s Boston-based Ace Of Hearts Records. As JOHN 3:16, Gerber’s music has been released by Alrealon Musique, Flood Records, 75orLess, White Label Music and more. Gerber has collaborated with the likes of Oxbow’s vocalist Eugene S. Robinson, Pas Musique, I-Symptom, Peter Webber and Mark Harris.

Recently, his work as a trailer music composer has helped to inform a new direction in his own studio albums, making them sound more and more cinematic.

Swarm is the outcome of a remote collaboration between these three, resulting in a 44 minute long sonic nightmare, the score to a horror film that doesn’t exist.


Written, recorded and produced by Be the Hammer & JOHN 3:16

Lyrics by Raoul Puke

Mixed by Jean-Marc Nicoletti

Mastered by Philippe Gerber at All Real Sound

Be the Hammer are:

J-M. Nicoletti: guitars, synths, programming

R. Puke: vocals, synths, sampling

JOHN 3:16 is Philippe Gerber [guitars, synths, electronic drums]

Artcover: Mimusa


Soil Records 4th anniversary

offworldcolonies – Raging : / / [offworldcolonies ltd.]


Leave a Comment